NaNoWriMo ~ Because I Know.

It’s almost that time of year.  Okay so, technically, NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month which you can find at www.nanowrimo.org ) doesn’t start until November 1st at 12am (and yes the time IS important), but now is the time to prepare.

Because this is serious stuff.

First for those who think I’m talking jibberish, NaNoWriMo is a orginization dedicated to raising money for national reading programs all geared to our youth.  Once a year they sponsor/poke/prod a huge national writing contest, where in we lose our minds and try to write a 50,000 word novel in under thirty days. 

So what’s the prize?  A brand new spanking novel in desperate need of editing, a printable certificate and spiffy little icon thingys you can paste everywhere.  (I have four of them ;p)  Oh, and knowing that you’re helping our wee ones read things BEYOND text messages. 

 

Rules?  You must sign up for a NaNo account, sooner is always better than later, but you can’t post novel info until November 1st, and honestly, don’t try to log in on that day, the site will be going bonkers.  You must submit your entire manuscript (no one reads it, and they can encrypt it too, if you are worried) for a offical word count before December 1st.  Other than that you can write anything, have your characters stutter for pages, and insert as many flashbacks as your little heart wants to.  It’s all on an honor system.

There are bonuses as well.  There are lots of promotions, offers, groups to join, write-ins and more.

So what should you be doing now?  That’s up to you.  Obviously you should go sign up, maybe donate some money, browse the site for tips, groups and info.  I like to have an idea of what I’m going to be writing way ahead of time.  This is the time when (if I’m going to do it this year, I have yet to decide) I develop a sketchy plot map.  I never follow it, but it’s nice to give yourself a wee bit of a boost.  Also I try to get to know my characters ahead of time, so their voices are about killing me before that first day. 

If I join in this year I already know my towns, the main conflict, one side conflict and all of my characters… and yes I may have issues.  ;p 

The point isn’t to actually write a book, or to get it published (because then I’d have four published books), but just to get out there and to get writing.

Are you in?

Have any questions?  (because we know I’m very helpful)

5 responses to “NaNoWriMo ~ Because I Know.

  1. LOL! I’m probably not in, but I love the idea. I’m thinking with the story I already have on the go and the creative writing course I’m doing next term to soothe my brain after two semesters of critical theory, I won’t have much left to write about.

  2. Oh H. E. Double Hockey Sticks…NO! But, I will be watching and reading (all stalker-like) and rooting you on by saying, “Go Emily…you is da bomb, baby!” and “Ewe can dew eeet!” Me? I’ll be thinking about NaBloPoMo and then promptly NOT doing it.

    • *Please note the writer of this post offers no guarantee that she will be participating in NaNoWriMo* Now the real NaBloPoMo in OCTOBER, that I might do.

  3. From a woman who needs string tea and a dictionary
    Emily https://coffeeandspellcheck.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

