The Voices in My Head, and Why I Blog

A requirement for the Kathyrn Ingrid Creativity Award is to share why I began blogging.

I wish I had some moving inspiring story, or some fantastic journey that led me here… but I don’t.

Honestly I just have to write

I’ve tried to quit, only to find the voices in my head get much too loud.  I tried to privately journal and share my stories with the goat, but it’s just not the same. 

There’s just something therapeutic about spilling thoughts into the interwebs and having real human beings respond back.  It’s about making that connection. 

It’s almost addicting.

I do have my practical reasons to.  Like if I ever finish my book and get it published I do expect each and everyone of you to buy a copy.  Which means I best come up with some far more interesting topics to keep you roped in for the next few years…  Yikes.  

So that’s why I’m here, because the voices in muh head tell me I have to.

What about you?

And yes I’m almost done with making this the longest (and worst) acceptance speech EVER.  Come back on Monday to meet fabulous bloggers with whom I’m passing the award onto!  (here’s a hint, it’s probably YOU)

 

6 responses to “The Voices in My Head, and Why I Blog

  1. don’t ever stop, i love reading your blog 🙂

  2. Like duh…of course it’s me! Ha, like that false confidence?? See….I’m getting better! And look at you, girlfriend…writing something under 1,000 words and then being all awesome at it. See….you can do it!

    As for seriousness, I started writing flash fiction stories because things would pop into my head and sit there relentlessly running a tin cup back and forth across my brain (must as a prisoner would do across bars) until I wrote down my thoughts/ideas/lunacy(?). I don’t consider myself a writer, I see myself as someone who *sometimes* has (as in a driving mad force) write things down.

    Have I told you lately how awesome your blog is? How outstandingly witty you are? Well…forget it, otherwise we won’t be able to fit your head through the door and we’ll need the goat to headbutt ya. 😉 (heart)

  3. Great Post! I blog because I love it!

  4. “Voices in my head” — love it! Do yours have names? Mine are mostly authority figures from when I was a kid, telling me when I screw up. But sometimes, if I’m really still, I can block those nagging voices and hear the quiet one that murmurs underneath the nags. The more I write, the louder that voice gets.

  5. Pingback: The Kathryn Ingrid Creativity Award & Passing it On | Coffee and Spellcheck

Leave a Reply

