Pretend You Care

I hate talking about myself.  I should rephrase that, I hate trying to describe myself.  I detest writing bio’s and about pages, and grumble loudly when I have to post “7 facts about yourself”.  I hate it.

But when a fellow blogger tells me to share something, a blogger who carries a gun, I listen.  So even though I too have tons of weapons stashed away, I’m positive Bad Luck Detective is a better shot… So here ya go…

  1. My skin crawls when people say “You got” or “funner” and the like.  I hate improper English when people are talking.  Which is funny because my grammar skills aren’t much to brag about when it comes to writing.
  2. I’m bothered by the fact that Sesame Street no longer has episodes with Snuffy.  I miss you Snuffy!!!
  3. I also miss real blue jeans, you know the kind that doesn’t stretch and you own them for years before you get that first tear in the knee…  I think they went extinct with Snuffy.
  4. Sleeping in to 6 am is a rare treat for me.  My children were cursed with a night owl mother, and I was cursed with early rising children.  My mother finds humor in this.
  5. Our current minion count includes a 6-year-old boy, a husband, an almost 2-year-old girl, 1 cattle dog, 1 Belgian Malinois, 1 german shepherd, 2 cats, 7 chickens, 1 pygmy goat, 2 buggies, and a hand full of fish.  My husband would prefer it to be a field full of Malinois, my son would prefer a field full of hamsters, and the girl would prefer a field full of kitties.  I’m waiting for them to all move out so I can have a field full of horses.  ;)
  6. I prefer the mountains to the ocean.  (even though I can’t stand heights)
  7. I hate socks in the summer.
  8. The lead singer of Cinderella’s voice weirds me out a wee bit.  But doesn’t even come close to being as annoying as Lee’s voice in Rush. 
  9. My decorating preferences and styles are bipolar, and almost change weekly. 
  10. I think the ending of a book/movie is way more important than anything else.  I can be pretty harsh on an entire series solely based by my opinion of the ending.  Skip out on a good ending and I will disown all of your brilliant work.  I can’t help it.
  11. I am a secret online gamer addict.  Or more so I could be one easily.  I used to love Everquest, back in the days of when we had real internet, and nothing better to do. 
  12. My top dream vacation is a 2 week horseback ride through Denali in Alaska… Here’s hoping I don’t scare myself out of it with what I’m doing to poor Denali in my book.  (And here’s hoping my book will help pay for it one day)
  13. I’ve lived my entire life in and around St.Louis, Missouri.  I defiantly follow by the “Show Me” mentality, and require reasons to trust people.  It can be a flaw at times, but has also saved my butt a few times too.
  14. My husband and I don’t talk writing.  Trust me, this is a good thing. 
  15.  I am probably one of the worst commenters out there in the social web world.  By the time anything loads, I’ve forgotten half of what I was going to say, or I’ve run out of time.  Charter or AT&T need to sponsor me!
  16. I take to criticism better than compliments.  I have trust issues. 
  17. I dream big.  Always.

What should we know about you?

What else do you want to know about me?

Feel free to join in and leave your link in the comments!

19 responses to “Pretend You Care

  1. Well, well, who’d have thunk (that one about the online gaming did catch me by surprise, although I had suspected the horse-riding one)!?
    I did care and I did enjoy it. And you’re very brave to share – rather you than me!

  2. This was perfect well almost. You stopped at 17. I think you did this to drive me crazy. Don’t worry, my hand is shaking so I won’t be able to shoot straight. I miss Snuffy too, I miss real blue jeans, I love the mountains more than the ocean, I don’t talk writing with my husband and I dream big. Now that was 5 things we have in common and my OCD is feeling better.

    • I have to stop on odd numbers. Like on the microwave, I can’t press 30 seconds, I have to go to 31. I have no clue why, lol. I’ll restrain myself from sharing other things we have in common so I won’t mess up the numbers, lol.

  3. I am cautious about compliments but have grown to assume when people give you one they mean it :) My husband and I talk about driving to Alaska we have friends who have had and had an amazing trip!

  4. Snuffy was THE best! My dream vacation is far less rugged, but I’m a soft Californian.

  5. There is no Snuffy? I did not know this. I think we need to petition Sesame Street to bring him back.

    Also, how do you manage online games with a dial up connection? That must be hard!

  6. Denali Alaska is on my bucket list. The horseback riding through it sounds divine! but I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t make it past the first day. I love the mountains, ocean and desert. But my dream would be probably be to live in quiet valley not too far from any of them.

  7. sleeping to 6 is a treat for me too… except I have my cat to blame instead of kids…

  8. I laughed out loud on number 4 and your mom. haha! you get to sleep in eventually, but then you miss them being little. sigh

    You should buy a couple horses :)

  9. I am always a morning person, so being a mother didn’t change a thing, so that was good.

    I found number five is way too awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

